Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak Academy 「ダンガンロンパ3 -The End of 希望ケ峰学園 」 Finale -The Balance of Hope and Despair-

mt-inc-dgrp3hc-531fb10d-mkv_snapshot_01-19_2016-10-03_00-42-19Phew… It’s finally over. Everyone loves happy ending right? This finale definitely paid well for that alone. This episode is full of fanservices that Danganronpa fans will enjoy, including the ending.

FINALE: The School of Hope and the Students of Despair | DL Links Batch

Honestly, I found most of Future Foundation members were a bunch of uninteresting characters, because they had less background & underdeveloped character, or even worse didn’t have them at all, like that Bandai guy. Well, except Ryota, Juuzo & Kyousuke who had it since Despair arc. My major gripe is about Ruruka. Up to this point, I’m still pissed about her hate towards Seiko because of a fucking candy. Eventhough she knew about Seiko’s allergy to sweets but fam, she ignored it. That bitch, I’m glad she got killed in a gruesome way & she deserved it. Big time. Still, I feel bad for those dead Future Foundation guys & girls (again except Ruruka) who didn’t manage to make it through until the end.

As I expected, I feel like there’s still some unanswered questions, especially how Hajime-Izuru hybrid and his friends regained their consciousness. I’m glad they’re alive and well,  but this Hajime’s ‘full of talents’ reason for reviving them is totally bullshit for me. It’s Zero Time Dilemma all over again where Delta had complex motives for his actions during the Decision Game. I feel like they’re a bit lazy in explaining all of these things, or it might be due to anime limitations. This is why the sequel in anime format was a bad attempt. Because of its tight scheduling for TV broadcast, they might had to limit the story by removing some parts that might explain those for the sake of fitting into the 12 eps per season limit. Yeah, it can be explained through OVAs and printed media but still, it has to be clarified on the spot.

Despite my gripes, overall I enjoyed the anime. They did a great job in linking the events between Despair & Future Arc. Also, I’m impressed with the details they put into this anime to relate with other Danganronpa installments like Zero & Another Episode, but not as deep as with the games. It lacks narrative experience too, to be honest. Still, I had a crazy ride through the episodes & I’m satisfied with the ending.

Again, making a sequel to a video game as an anime was a bad choice simply because it really tones down the depth of the storyline, the characters & its narrative experience which Danganronpa is well-known for. What matters me the most is those mentioned elements, so I don’t mind if it was a visual novel (I think it should be) without any gameplay elements like the first 3 games since no class trial was conducted in this anime because it gives the writers freedom to expand the universe, lore & terminology.

I know the sudden deaths in Future arc were intentional by the writer but at least give the FF members some love lol. Remember the School & Island Mode Danganronpa 1 & 2 as those let players to get closer with the characters while learning about their backgrounds without worrying too much about the killing game. Spike Chunsoft should’ve done this for Danganronpa 3 in the first place so that we could learn about FF members. Right now, I’m just hoping my wish for Danganronpa 3 visual novel will be fulfilled soon. Chunsoft, plz?

  • Story (8.0/10)
  • Characters (8.3/10)
  • Animation, Art & Design (8.0/10)
  • Music/Audio (8.5/10)
  • Enjoyment (8.5/10)
  • Overall (8.3/10)
Leave a Reply

