Charlotte 「シャーロット」 Finale -Plunder World Tour-

[MT-InC] CHAR - 13 [90A3A940].mkv_snapshot_14.48_[2015.10.02_23.20.02]R E V I E W   T I M E   B O Y Z !

#13: What I’ll Record From Here On Out (Mirrorcreator | DL Batch)

Honestly, I enjoyed this show. I think it has a certain charm for the theme this show was trying to tell us. Sacrifice yourself to save many, I guess..? But the thing that wasn’t great is… the pacing. I felt that 13 episodes weren’t enough to show the whole premise of this anime. At least 24 episodes would suffice it.

About 4 episodes was wasted doing the lame gags that I cringed most of the time, then shit goes down faster that Usain Bolt…. just like that. From my estimation, about 60% of this series consists of overused gag scene while the rest of it was for story-focused. Jun Maeda is kinda terrible at handling these comedy parts. Despite that, he’s still good in drama sections.

I began to hook up to this anime again after I witnessed the unfortunate events in ep 6. Everything was explained since that moment. Then, when I learned about this time regression ability to save someone, I thought like “Yo, Steins;Gate did this first!” but I didn’t want to call it a ripoff simply because of its slightly different execution. I’m glad Ayumi was saved but dang, Kumagami got rekt soon after that…

After I watched the finale, I felt it’s missing something that every Key series has up until now. It seems you don’t have to prepare some tissues for this one. I don’t like how rushed the ending was but still, it reached the happy ending. I won’t blame Maeda-san for this but… after thinking it through… maybe it’s because of tight schedule, budget and all but I think P.A. Works couldn’t capture and translate Maeda’s story into the anime pretty well. Like I said before, 13 episodes were too short to fit with his story. I have a feeling that Charlotte VN might be possible, just like Angel Beats had one.

The characters were just decent. While I disliked how generic the MC was, at least he redeemed himself after ep 7. Many people hated Nao due to her bossy attitude but I think she had a reason acting like that. I remembered she got bullied by some random chicks and to be honest, she deserved it. The romantic relationship between Nao & MC was there but for the most part, it’s not a big deal. Other characters like Joujirou & Yusa were just another ordinary side characters and there’s not much to talk about them.

Other than that, the animation quality is as you can expect from P.A. Works, which is very good. Musics were catchy for the most part. The inclusion of character songs were some nice addition to it too. I don’t care about the superpowers in this anime, most anime nowadays are about superpowers and whatnot. (*while keep hoping for Index S3*)

Overall, I had a great ride with Charlotte. Sadly, it doesn’t stand out as a legit Key series. Rushed plot, expected plot holes, less powerful ending and even massive yet unnecessary comedy parts made this anime more… forgettable? It is a good anime in general haha!

I think this series will be much better if it comes out as Key’s full-fledged visual novel.

  • Story (6.5/10)
  • Characters (7.0/10)
  • Animation, Art & Design (8.0/10)
  • Music/Audio (7.5/10)
  • Enjoyment (6.8/10)
  • Overall (7.16/10)
Leave a Reply

