Kyoukai no Kanata 「境界の彼方」 Finale -Realizing True Thoughts-

[InC] BeyondBoundary - 12 [A9F451AD].mkv_snapshot_13.16_[2013.12.20_23.33.36]#12: Grey World (Mirrorcreator | MT -shared listing-)

THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS.

Kyoto Animation is really well-known for its superior animation & moe-styled slice of life anime like K-ON!, Tamako Market & Chu-2. And finally, they presented us with this action & supernatural oriented anime series, Kyoukai no Kanata which was adapted from the novel by the same name that was published by the same company. I’m glad they finally moved to the different genre because honestly there were so much slice of life anime made by them lately. Speaking of it, where is the 3rd season of Full Metal Panic! KyoAni??

As we all already knew, this anime had some KyoAni’s typical signatures, like the klutzy female protagonist Mirai & the Mio-look-alike Mitsuki. Well I ain’t really mind about it. I’m impressed by the nice looking animation quality & the unique dreamshades design at least, pretty much reminds me of Shinsekai Yori. The musics are good at least.

The story was somehow not bad for the most part. The plot was getting weak at the middle part, especially around ep 5-6 I believe because that idol thingy didn’t have anything to do with the story but eventually it started to get interesting from ep 9 onwards, where Mirai wanted to kill Akihito, and plot twist occurred when we found out her true intention.

I like the growing relationship between Akihito & Mirai (simply because of the beauty of the megane LOL), but I don’t really understand about the ending of this series. Why KyoAni have to be so cryptic about this kind of ending? How did she return after she disappeared at the other world? I have no idea what were they thinking. I know it’s a fictional story but it shouldn’t be THAT fictional which make no sense. If they give a perfect ending, I’m really sure most people will like it. I like their reunion but honestly I didn’t like the cryptic ending though… Fuyukai desu!!

My final verdict for this anime:

  • Story (7.2/10)
  • Animation, Art & Design (9.0/10)
  • Music/Audio (8.5/10)
  • Overall (7.5/10)

I have to lower the score simply because of the weak plot at the middle part of this anime & the incomplete ending, but I did enjoyed the story for the most part. Some people might accept it, but I’m not a kind of person who likes the sudden happy ending without any details about it.

Leave a Reply

